Kotobuki Minako 「Shiny+」 GET!!!

September 13, 2010 at 11:16 pm | Posted in Kotobuki Minako, Music, Seiyuu, sphere | 6 Comments

I know the big news today is on AFA 2010, but there is another bigger piece of news for me…

YES!!!! I got my copies of Kotobuki Minako’s debut single 「Shiny+」 2 days before its release date of 15 September!!! AWESOME!!! I LOVE YOU, cdjapan!!!!

NOTE: Tons of screenshots from the PV below. Do not bother to proceed if you’re not interested.

Continue Reading Kotobuki Minako 「Shiny+」 GET!!!…

Oniisama e…

September 13, 2010 at 1:08 am | Posted in Anime, Review | 3 Comments

From ANN:

Before leaving her cram school, Nanako Misonô asks one of the teachers if they can become pen-pals. The teacher, Takehiko Henmi, is reluctant at first, but eventually accepts the offer. The story is narrated through the letters sent from Nanako as she enters Seiran, a renowned private high school for girls only. There she encounters many difficulties as an ordinary middle-class girl invited to the prestigious Sorority, the most traditional and sophisticated club on campus.

Unlike most girls school anime these days, Oniisama e… takes a serious and mature approach in fleshing out the lives of three different families whose daughters attend the same school, are all Sorority members, and who are each dealing with their own complicated issues. I didn’t expect to be this hooked on the series when I first began, considering the fact that it was produced 20 years ago. But now, I once again acknowledge the belief that good stories are timeless indeed.

Depressions, drug addiction, twisted relationships and personalities, you’re definitely not going to like this if you’re just hoping for a light-hearted, fluffy yuriyuri story in which the girls make out with one another. No, this series strikes much closer to home, with the girls having to deal with cases of bullying in school, parents divorces, terminal illness, and death. Still, I’m truly amazed by how the author is able to take all these issues and mix them together into one great story without dragging out any one aspect too much, or diving into endless angsty scenes.

The art is as to be expected of a shoujo series drawn 20 years ago, with the typical long flowing hair and sparkling eyes that tends to turn me off, except that the story is so engaging in this case that the art no longer bothers me. The facial expression of the characters is done very well indeed, realistically portraying how real humans in their shoes would have reacted at each incident.

While great as a first watching and I don’t regret the time spent on it, I doubt I’ll be able to sit through a rewatch since it is 39 episodes long. And oh, you might want to note that the anime version is much more positive than the manga version from what I’ve read.

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers